Beer Bottle Lock – Remixed

2014-12-17 Beer LockFirstly let me state this is not an original idea – recently a Beer Bottle Lock made the rounds on 3D printing news sites, stemming from an Instructables tutorial by JON-A-TRON (click here to see the original DIY Instructable).

However I thought it was a lot of fun with Xmas coming up, so decided to make one for a member of my family (hence the writing on top “John’s Beer”). Great little project involving measuring (and inevitably drinking!) lots of beer, and designing around this base model. The main difference between my design and that of JON-A-TRON is that mine requires no screw – it holds together once once locked around the bottle top, even though it is printed as 2 separate parts. I think my design is also ‘slimmed- down,’ therefore probably easier to snap off if someone really wanted to – however this really is just a bit of fun, anyone who seriously wants to lock away their beer either has some paranoia issues, or just some dodgy mates!

I still want to make some changes, but once complete I may upload to Thingiverse for you to enjoy 🙂 This is also my first print with a new (to me) brand of ABS called Zortrax, running it through the ‘Up! Plus 2‘ 3D printer. So far really happy with it, and EXCELLENT price from 3Dprintergear.com.au ($32.95 per Kg). Check it out here if you’re looking for cheap filament in Australia.

– Posted by James Novak

2 thoughts on “Beer Bottle Lock – Remixed

  1. Pingback: Merry Xmas – Download my Beer Bottle Lock | edditive blog

  2. Pingback: Return of the Beer Bottle Lock | edditive blog

Leave a comment